Music Album No.14

Jimi Hendrix – Electric Ladyland 1968

Electric Ladyland is the third and final studio album by the Jimi Hendrix Experience and the final studio album released in Hendrix’s lifetime before his death in 1970. Released Track Records in the UK in October 1968, the double album was the only record from the band produced by Hendrix.It peaked at number six in the UK, where it spent 12 weeks on the chart.

Electric Ladyland included a cover of the Bob Dylan song “All Along the Watchtower”, which became the Experience’s best-selling single, peaking at number six in the UK. Although the album confounded critics in 1968, it has since been viewed as Hendrix’s best work and one of the greatest rock records of all time.listed in Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time, on which it was ranked 55th.

Hendrix was famous for his studio perfectionism; he and drummer Mitch Mitchell recorded over 50 takes of “Gypsy Eyes” over three sessions. The Experience began recording Electric Ladyland at several studios in the US and UK between July 1967 and January 1968.[3] Recording resumed on April 18, 1968. It also contains a 15 min version of Voodoo Chile !!!!

Hendrix had written to Reprise describing what he wanted for the cover art, but was mostly ignored. He expressly asked for a color photo by Linda Eastman (later known as Linda McCartney) of the group sitting with children on a sculpture from Alice in Wonderland in Central Park, and drew a picture of it for reference.The company instead used a blurred red and yellow photo of his head. However an additional cover appeared. The outer record sleeve UK cover by the photographer David Montgomery and later Polydor reissue distributed in Europe.

Alternative Cover

Experience Line up

  • Jimi Hendrix – vocals, guitars, piano, percussion, electric harpsichord; bass guitar on “Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland),” “Long Hot Summer Night,” “Gypsy Eyes,” “1983,” “House Burning Down,” and “All Along the Watchtower”; comb and tissue paper on “Crosstown Traffic”
  • Noel Redding – backing vocals, bass guitar on “Crosstown Traffic,” “Little Miss Strange,” “Come On,” “Burning of the Midnight Lamp,” and “Voodoo Child (Slight Return)”; acoustic guitar and lead vocals on “Little Miss Strange”
  • Mitch Mitchell – backing vocals, drums, percussion all tracks except “Rainy Day, Dream Away” and “Still Raining, Still Dreaming”; lead vocals on “Little Miss Strange”

Additional Musicians Credited

  • Chris Wood – flute on “1983… (A Merman I Should Turn to Be)”
  • Freddie Smith – tenor saxophone on “Rainy Day, Dream Away” and “Still Raining, Still Dreaming”
  • Steve Winwood – Hammond organ on “Voodoo Chile”
  • Mike Finnigan – organ on “Rainy Day, Dream Away” and “Still Raining, Still Dreaming”
  • Al Kooper – piano on “Long Hot Summer Night”
  • Dave Mason – twelve-string guitar, backing vocals on “Crosstown Traffic” and “All Along the Watchtower”
  • Jack Casady – bass guitar on “Voodoo Chile”
  • Buddy Miles – drums on “Rainy Day, Dream Away” and “Still Raining, Still Dreaming”
  • Larry Faucette – congas on “Rainy Day, Dream Away” and “Still Raining, Still Dreaming”
  • Brian Jones – percussion on “All Along the Watchtower”
  • The Sweet Inspirations – backing vocals on “Burning of the Midnight Lamp”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.