Music Album No.18

Diamond Life – Sade 1984

Diamond Life is the debut studio album by English artist Sade. It was released in the United Kingdom on 16 July 1984 by Epic Records.

Music critics acclaimed Diamond Life and it was also a commercial success, winning the 1985 Brit Award for Best British Album. The album charted highly in the UK and US, and was later certified multi-platinum in both countries. Diamond Life sold over six million copies worldwide, becoming one of the top-selling debut recordings of the era and the best-selling debut album by a British female vocalist, a record that stood for 24 years. It was also among 10 albums nominated for the best British album of the previous 30 years by the Brit Awards in 2010, losing to (What’s the Story) Morning Glory? by Oasis.Pitchfork placed the album at number 10 on its list of The 200 Best Albums of the 1980s.


  • Sade Adu – vocals
  • Stuart Matthewman – saxophone, guitar
  • Andrew Hale – keyboards
  • Paul S. Denman – bass

Additional musicians

  • Dave Early – drums, percussion
  • Martin Ditcham – percussion
  • Paul Cooke – drums
  • Terry Bailey – trumpet
  • Gordon Matthewman – trumpet

2 thoughts on “Music Album No.18

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.